AFSCME Council 25 Issues First Round of Legislative Endorsements

The AFSCME Council 25 Executive Board and Officers ratified the recommendations of the Area PEOPLE Committees and issued the following endorsements of candidates at the federal, state, and local levels.

“The Republican leadership in Lansing and D.C. has fought tooth and nail to make life harder for every day working people and rig the rules in favor of big businesses and CEOs” said Council 25 President Lawrence A. Roehrig. “These candidates have laid out bold visions where anyone that works hard for a living isn’t forced to choose between groceries or the electric bill, where children from every zip code have access to affordable higher education and vocational training, and where our seniors don’t have to worry about constant attacks on their pensions and healthcare and can retire with dignity.”


Lorna Davison, a longtime Wayne County employee and the elected statewide PEOPLE Chairperson shared Roehrig’s excitement. “These candidates came before committees of AFSCME members across the state as part of a true democratic process. They got to know our members and showed that they understand the struggles that they face on the job and in their communities every day. We’re ready to help get these candidates to Lansing and Washington D.C. so they can restore the American Dream.”


Governor- Gretchen Whitmer*

U.S. Senate- Debbie Stabenow*

Attorney General- Dana Nessel

Secretary of State- Jocelyn Benson

Supreme Court- Sam Bagenstos and Megan Cavanagh


Congressional District 2- Rob Davidson

Congressional District 3- Fred Wooden

Congressional District 5- Dan Kildee

Congressional District 6- George Franklin

Congressional District 7- Gretchen Driskell

Congressional District 8- Elissa Slotkin

Congressional District 9- Andy Levin

Congressional District 10- Frank Accavitti Jr

Congressional District 11- Tim Greimel

Congressional District 12- Debbie Dingell

Congressional District 13- Neutral until primary

Congressional District 14- Brenda Lawrence


State Senate 1- Stephanie Chang

State Senate 2- Adam Hollier

State Senate 3- Sylvia Santana

State Senate 4- Marshall Bullock

State Senate 5- David Knezek

State Senate 6- Neutral until primary (both qualified)

State Senate 7- Dayna Polehanki

State Senate 9- Paul Wojno

State Senate 10- Henry Yanez

State Senate 11- Jeremy Moss

State Senate 12- Rosemary Bayer

State Senate 13- Mallory McMorrow

State Senate 15- Julia Pulver

State Senate 17- Bill Lavoy

State Senate 18- Jeff Irwin

State Senate 19-  Jason Noble

State Senate 20- Sean McCann

State Senate 23- Curtis Hertel

State Senate 24- Kelly Rossman-McKinney

State Senate 27- Jim Ananich

State Senate 29- Winnie Brinks

State Senate 32- Phil Phelps

State Senate 33- Mark Bignell

State Senate 35- Mike Taillard

State Senate 38- Scott Dianda


State House 2- Joe Tate

State House 3- Wendell Byrd

State House 4- Isaac Robinson

State House 5- Mark Payne Jr.

State House 6- Tyrone Carter

State House 12- Alex Garza

State House 16- Bill Johnson

State House 17- Michelle Lavoy

State House 19- Dan Centers

State House 20- Matt Koleszar

State House 21- Kristy Pagan

State House 22- John Chirkun

State House 23- Darrin Camilleri

State House 24- Laura Winn

State House 25- Nate Shannon

State House 28- Patrick Green

State House 29- Brenda Carter

State House 30- Wisam Naoum

State House 31- Bill Sowerby

State House 34- Sheldon Neeley

State House 35- Vincent Gregory

State House 37- Christine Grieg

State House 39- Jennifer Suidan

State House 40- Mari Manoogian

State House 41- Padma Kuppa

State House 42- Mona Shand

State House 48- Sheryl Kennedy

State House 49- John Cherry Jr.

State House 50- Tim Sneller

State House 51- David Lossing

State House 52- Donna Lasinski

State House 56- Ernie Whiteside

State House 57- Amber Pedersen

State House 60- Jon Hoadley

State House 62- Jim Haadsma

State House 63- Jen Aniamo

State House 64- Sheila Troxel

State House 67- Kara Hope

State House 71- Angela Witwer

State House 75- David Lagrand

State House 76- Rachel Hood

State House 85- Eric Sabin

State House 98- Sara Schultz

State House 99- Allison Quast-Lents

State House 101- Kathy Wiejaczka

State House 108- Bob Romps

State House 110- Ken Summers


Kent Commissioner- Scott Urbanowski

Ingham Commissioner- Dennis Louney

Eaton Commissioner- Jane Whitacre

Wayne County Executive- Warren Evans

Wayne Commissioners- Ilona Varga, Tim Kileen, Diane Webb, Monique Baker-McCormack, Brian Stone

Livingston Commissioners- Kristina Drake, Jennifer Garcia, Steve Savela

Macomb Commissioner- Harold Haugh

Oakland Commissioners- William Miller, Nancy Quarles, Angela Powell

Anchor Bay Schools- Jon DeRoo

Brownstown Trustee- Steve Allen

3rd Circuit (Wayne)- Suzette Samuels, Regina Thomas

Probate (Wayne)- David Perkins

Circuit (Genesee)- Celeste Bell, Chris Christenson, Brian Pickell, Elizabeth Kelly

Genesee Commission- Bryant Nolden, Brenda Clack, Ellen Ellenburg, Kim Courts, Mark Young, Martin Cousineau, Ted Henry, Bobbie Walton

Shiawassee Commission- Brandon Marks